top stories 

  • Pakistan Talks Over Kashm...

  • World's worst performing ...

  • 1st Test: Ishant Sharma P...

  • How Saaho star Prabhas pr...

  • LG Gram 17, Gram 15, Gram...

  • Researchers Find Full Che...

  • TANCA 2019 Rank List Toda...

  • 60 persons rescued from f...

  • Rajnath Singh spoke to US...

  • RSS delays India's indepe...

  • Gadkari And Javadekar Wen...

  • Nirmala Sitharaman Says C...

Admin Reporter- Pooja

Jul 18 2019


World Cup 2019: NZ captain Kane Williamson stumped by 'finer rule'

Thursday, 18 July 2019

New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson said yesterday that though there was no loser in Sunday's World Cup final defeat to England and there was one winner who was crowned. "At the end of the day nothing separated us, no one lost the final, but there was a crowned winner and there it is," Williamson told New Zealand radio station Newstalk ZB, as he obviously continued to struggle to come to terms with the defeat which came about via boundary count after both teams were tied twice on scores following their 50 overs each and a subsequent Super Over.

 

 

 

Cricketers, current and former, shared New Zealand's pain on losing the title in that manner and many of them asked for a serious look and even a change may be in the rule book. Another issue in the thrilling final was when the England team were awarded six runs instead of five when the ball ricocheted off Ben Stokes's bat while he was taking the second run and went to the fence. As per the rule book, the second round should not have been counted as the players had not crossed before the throw was made. Interestingly enough though, Williamson said he was unaware of that rule.

instagram imagesfollow us @ instagram